Skip to content
East Lothian Counts — East Lothian, in numbers.Local help →

East Lothian, in numbers

People and living standards

East Lothian council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Lothian council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 84,440 in 1991 to 116,460 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 86,990 people in 1996; 116,460 people in 2025. 33.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199184,440
199284,510
199384,880
199485,900
199586,600
199686,990
199787,730
199888,360
199989,110
200089,910
200190,180
200291,060
200391,640
200492,170
200592,730
200693,850
200795,570
200897,480
200998,340
201099,140
201199,920
2012101,080
2013101,900
2014102,880
2015104,110
2016105,170
2017106,080
2018107,070
2019108,510
2020109,510
2021111,340
2022112,460
2023113,860
2024115,180
2025116,460
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,739 people in 1996; 20,024 people in 2025. 12.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,416
199216,518
199316,697
199417,142
199517,469
199617,739
199718,026
199818,260
199918,529
200018,751
200118,765
200218,706
200318,455
200418,412
200518,392
200618,501
200718,618
200818,621
200918,622
201018,551
201118,676
201218,803
201318,799
201418,892
201519,078
201619,176
201719,307
201819,619
201919,997
202019,978
202120,094
202220,161
202320,235
202420,168
202520,024
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,310 people in 1996; 70,473 people in 2025. 29.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199153,339
199253,218
199353,387
199453,906
199554,187
199654,310
199754,649
199854,951
199955,286
200055,739
200155,782
200256,637
200357,225
200457,706
200558,141
200658,897
200760,287
200861,934
200962,426
201063,066
201163,333
201263,672
201363,938
201464,389
201564,963
201665,446
201765,761
201866,074
201966,543
202067,064
202168,041
202268,412
202369,138
202469,842
202570,473
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Lothian council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,941 people in 1996; 25,963 people in 2025. 73.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,685
199214,774
199314,796
199414,852
199514,944
199614,941
199715,055
199815,149
199915,295
200015,420
200115,633
200215,717
200315,960
200416,052
200516,197
200616,452
200716,665
200816,925
200917,292
201017,523
201117,911
201218,605
201319,163
201419,599
201520,069
201620,548
201721,012
201821,377
201921,970
202022,468
202123,205
202223,887
202324,487
202425,170
202525,963
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 112,280 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · East Lothian · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total108,80996.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 99,717 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · East Lothian · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White97,99898.3%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller130%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group3630.4%
Asian / Asian British: Indian2750.3%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2880.3%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi430%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2090.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1400.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2860.3%
Other Ethnic Group1020.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Lothian council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,971 per person in 1997; £28,120 per person in 2024. 156.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,971
199811,228
199911,718
200012,265
200112,447
200212,653
200313,548
200414,626
200515,253
200615,705
200716,338
200816,904
200916,890
201017,620
201117,885
201218,181
201319,036
201419,661
201520,145
201620,082
201720,207
201820,692
201922,320
202022,307
202123,064
202224,039
202326,428
202428,120
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Lothian council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 3.4% in 1997; 8.3% in 2024. 4.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Lothian council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19973.4
19983.7
19993.6
20003
20010.6
20020
20033.9
20047.8
20058.5
20067.2
20076.5
20087.3
20095.5
20109.1
20119.8
20127.6
20138.7
20148.7
20155.9
20164.3
20172.6
20181.4
20195.9
20206.3
20215.6
20224.7
20238.1
20248.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Lothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Lothian council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£283,000

July 2026 · East Lothian council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.